“Horses ‘n’ Hearts” bracelet

This was a custom order for an eight year old girl’s birthday. I hadn’t done children’s jewellery before (aside from some wooden surf bracelets for my boys!), so this was an exciting project.

The brief in keywords were something like, “punky, funky, pink & blacks, sort of goth-like, girly, dangly, with horse charms” – so I had quite a lot to work on! Firstly I had a look around the internet for horse charms, but nothing stood out, a lot of antique silver-plated type charms came up but nothing that I liked, or that I felt fitted the brief, so I looked to Twitter!

On Twitter, I had recently made acquaintance with Vicky from StarsNScars who makes unusual and quirky jewellery using various mediums, and in particular plastics. Approaching Vicky, I asked if she would be able to make me some custom charms, including a couple of horses! I told her the colours I wanted and left her to it!

When they arrived I was so chuffed! They were better than I could have imagined, and so different from other charms I had seen!

*Picture taken from StarsNScars facebook page*

I immediately set to work in designing the bracelet around the charms, and used assorted hot pink, polka dot, and shimmering dark buttons. Amongst the buttons & charms were some little clusters of plastic hot pink & black beads with silver-lined crystal seed beads. I used a sterling silver charm 6″ charm bracelet chain with toggle fastening.

I was so happy with how it came out, I wanted a grown-up version!! The little girl I was told loved it to bits, and you can see her on my facebook page in the “Fan Photos” section modelling it beautifully!

Here is the finished bracelet…“Horses ‘n’ Hearts”


One response to this post.

  1. I’m so glad you liked the charms, I love how the bracelet turned out! 🙂 x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

